Our role in conservation is to create direct and positive connections between wildlife and people. We protect endangered species, increase understanding of wildlife and inspire community action.
How we are helping

Taronga Zoo Blog

Monday 29th November 2010
They’re fast, it’s dark and now keepers have finally counted seven!
Friday 26th November 2010
Play was in full swing this morning at the Zoo’s elephant exhibit.
Friday 26th November 2010
Ripley the owl has been part of the Bird Show crew for just over a year now. It doesn't seem that long ago that she was covered in white fluffy down and taken home every night to be hand-raised by one of her trainers and surrogate-mum, Erin.
Wednesday 24th November 2010
The Taronga Foundation raised over $340,000 for tigers last Friday at the annual Zoofari fundraiser in a spectacular Marquee at Taronga Zoo overlooking the Harbour.
Friday 19th November 2010
Tune in to the special TV event on Australia's biggest babies. Ch 7, 7:30pm Wed 24th Nov.
Thursday 11th November 2010
We officially named our calf today, “Tuk Ta” (pronounced ‘ took tuh’) it means ‘doll’ in Thai.
Wednesday 10th November 2010
The new calf loves being hosed so much we thought we would encourage her to go for a swim in the waterfall pool.
Tuesday 9th November 2010
All the elephants were dust bathing around the big dirt mound in the top paddock after their baths this morning. The boys were playing and having fun when the new calf decided to join in too.
Monday 8th November 2010
Our new calf readily walked onto the scales this morning and she is still her birth weight of 120kg.
Friday 5th November 2010
The female calf spent more time in the paddock with the rest of the herd today. The other calves, Luk Chai and Pathi Harn, seem to be more interested with her and Luk chai was seen looping his trunk around hers.