Our role in conservation is to create direct and positive connections between wildlife and people. We protect endangered species, increase understanding of wildlife and inspire community action.
How we are helping

Taronga Western Plains Zoo Blog

Friday 4th November 2011
Enjoy the melodies of the local Macquarie Conservatorium performers at the Macquarie Strings Spring Concert on Saturday 19 November 2011 from 11:00am – 12:30pm at Bakhita’s Café.
Wednesday 2nd November 2011
The cheeky Meerkat pups at Taronga Western Plains Zoo are growing up fast and have just received their last vaccinations.
Wednesday 2nd November 2011
On Sunday 30 October, Taronga Western Plains Zoo entered two teams in the 2011 Twitchathon.
Wednesday 17th August 2011
Zoo Grooves tickets are now on sale. Get your hands on the hottest ticket in town for this annual concert event during the October long weekend, Saturday 1 October 2011, at Taronga Western Plains Zoo’s African Picnic Ground.
Monday 15th August 2011
Happy the Hippo has a big problem. His tusks are growing in the wrong direction and causing him discomfort as they get too long. To fix this problem we used to anesthetise Happy and cut his tusks down, but to ensure this problem doesn’t occur again Happy is learning a new skill!
Monday 15th August 2011
Taronga Western Plains Zoo’s male African Lion, Jasiri, has celebrated his 12th birthday.
Wednesday 13th July 2011
Taronga Western Plains Zoo has been nominated as a finalist in two categories at the 2011 NSW Inland Tourism Awards.
Friday 1st July 2011
Artist and teacher Michael Herron visited Taronga Western Plains Zoo as part of the Taronga Foundation’s Artist in Residence program.
Thursday 30th June 2011
If wild populations of Sumatran Tigers didn’t already face enough threats, new road construction may be another risk.
Monday 27th June 2011
NJ, the Galapagos Tortoise hatchling is growing well, with keepers now introducing some new 'furniture' into the enclosure.