Our role in conservation is to create direct and positive connections between wildlife and people. We protect endangered species, increase understanding of wildlife and inspire community action.
How we are helping

Taronga Western Plains Zoo Blog

Thursday 11th November 2010
Earlier this year I travelled to Mongolia to monitor released captive bred Przewalski Horses (Takhi) at Hustai National Park.
Monday 1st November 2010
Images of Rhinos and Giraffe will now fly through the sky on one of Qantaslink's Q400 aircraft
Thursday 28th October 2010
Taronga Western Plains Zoo’s Safari Park children’s playground has won the Kidsafe 2010 National Playspace Design Awards for public playspaces in Regional Parks.
Tuesday 5th October 2010
Taronga Western Plains Zoo is mourning the passing of Yum Yum, our much loved African Elephant. We estimate Yum Yum at 42 years of age, she has been the matriarch of the African Elephant herd at Taronga Western Plains Zoo since they first arrived on the 12th December, 1977.
Friday 17th September 2010
The first of the spring babies has arrived at Taronga Western Plains Zoo and it’s covered in stripes!
Thursday 16th September 2010
Today is a sad day at Taronga Western Plains Zoo with passing of Andrea Giraffe at 24 years of age. Andrea had been in declining health due to her age for some months.
Monday 13th September 2010
Keepers have welcomed the birth of a critically endangered male Addax on August 8. For the first couple of weeks the little antelope’s mother had hidden him, like they would in the wild, to protect him from predators.
Tuesday 31st August 2010
The hottest tickets in town are now on sale at Taronga Western Plains Zoo’s main entrance for Zoo Grooves on Saturday 2 October 2010 at 1:30pm during the October long weekend.
Monday 30th August 2010
Prime Possum and the Saturday Club visited Taronga Western Plains Zoo this week to film segments for an upcoming show.
Thursday 26th August 2010
We’ve just finished hosting visits last week by students from around the Western Region who came to celebrate National Science Week.