Our role in conservation is to create direct and positive connections between wildlife and people. We protect endangered species, increase understanding of wildlife and inspire community action.
How we are helping

Media Releases

Monday 14th March 2011
Taronga Zoo has been named the ‘Best Major Attraction’ at the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards.
Thursday 24th February 2011
Taronga’s male giraffe, Jimiyu, today had his right hoof trimmed by a farrier.
Wednesday 16th February 2011
Keepers at Taronga Western Plains Zoo are celebrating a special birthday this month as Kufara the Black Rhino turns one!
Friday 4th February 2011
A critically endangered Hawksbill Turtle and endangered Green Turtle, both found in poor condition have been rehabilitated and released by Taronga Zoo.
Friday 4th February 2011
One of Taronga Zoo’s elephants, Pak Boon, has been diagnosed with Tuberculosis (TB) despite extensive pre-screening of all the elephants before coming to Australia.
Monday 31st January 2011
Keepers at Taronga Zoo have been preparing cold treats to help the animals cool down in the hot weather this week.
Sunday 30th January 2011
Taronga Western Plains Zoo has no intention or knowledge of speculation regarding the possible sale of the region’s premier tourist attraction.
Tuesday 25th January 2011
A tiny female Western Lowland Gorilla has been born at Taronga Zoo. Born to experienced mother ‘Kriba’ on Saturday 15 January, the youngster has been named ‘Kipenzi’ which means ‘precious one’ in Swahili.
Tuesday 18th January 2011
Taronga Zoo was proud to be part of Oprah’s Ultimate Australian Adventure. Airing in the US and Australia this week, the fabulous animals of the zoo animals also showcased at oprah.com/Australia.
Tuesday 11th January 2011
Taronga Zoo keepers have been saddened to farewell one of their oldest chimpanzees, ‘Bessie’ today.