This spectacular bird needs our help! Find Out More

Section 6 of the Zoological Parks Board Act 1973 (NSW) stipulates the criteria under which the members are appointed to the Board. The Board met seven times during the 2013/14 year and the number of meetings attended by each member is shown in brackets.

Mr Leonard Bleasel AM, JP FAIM FAICD (7)

Ministerial Appointee. Chairman of the Taronga Conservation Society Australia. Mr Bleasel was the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of The Australian Gas Light Company (AGL) until his retirement in February 2001. He is Chairman of Australian Pipeline Limited (APA Group) and the CIMB Advisory Council, and a Partner of O’Connell Street Associates.

Mr Steven Crane (7)

Ministerial appointee. Deputy Chairman and Chair of the Marketing Committee. Mr Crane is Chairman of nib holdings limited and Global Valve Technology, and a Director of Transfield Services, Bank of Queensland Limited and Australian Pipeline Limited (APA Group). Mr Crane is also a member of the CIMB Securities International (Australia) Pty Ltd Advisory Council.

Clr Roy Bendall (7)

Representing Mosman Council. Member of the Audit and Risk Committee. Clr Bendall is the Deputy Mayor of Mosman. He has broad experience working in international financial and capital markets, and project management specialising in the trade and maritime infrastructure sector. Clr Bendall is also a legal practitioner with experience in regulatory reform and the provision of regulatory advice including to corporations and the Government in Papua New Guinea.

Ms Penny Bingham Hall FAICD -SF Fin (6)*

Ministerial Appointee. Ms Bingham-Hall spent 23 years with Leighton Holdings, including as Executive General Manager Strategy and Executive General Manager Corporate. She is a Director of BlueScope Steel Ltd, DEXUS Funds Management Limited, Sydney Ports Corporation, Newcastle Port Corporation, Port Kembla Port Corporation, and SCEGGS Darlinghurst Limited.

* Eligible to attend 6 meetings

Ms Jennifer Cowley (6)

Representing the local community in Dubbo. Member of the Marketing Committee. Ms Cowley is an active member of the local community in Dubbo. She is Editor of the Dubbo Weekender, a volunteer media and current affairs commentator on ABC Radio (Western Plains) and sits on various community advisory boards.

Ms Susan Doyle (0)*

Ministerial Appointee. Ms Doyle has had an extensive executive career in the funds management industry, particularly in the equities and fixed interest sectors, working with Commonwealth Funds Management, Suncorp Metway and Insurance Australia Group. She is a member of the Future Fund Board of Guardians, a Director of the Stock Exchange Guarantee Corporation, Barbara May Foundation, LawCover Insurance Ltd and LawCover Ltd and the Australian College of Dermatology.  She is also a member of the State Library Council of NSW.

* Not eligible to attend meetings in 2013/14

Dr Kersti Seksel BVSc (Hons) MRCVS MA (Hons), FACVSc, DACVB, DECAWBM (7)

Representing veterinary science and animal welfare. Chair of the Wildlife Conservation, Health and  Welfare Committee. Dr Seksel is the principal of a specialist practice in behavioural medicine, the Chair of the NSW Animal Welfare Advisory Committee and a Board member of the Delta Society Australia. Dr Seksel is also a member of the Australian Veterinary Association and Fellow of Australian and New Zealand College of Veterinary Scientists.

Ms Nancy Fox FAICD (7)

Ministerial appointee. Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee. Ms Fox is the Chairperson of Adelaide Managed Funds Ltd, a Director of HCF Life and Ethane Pipeline Ltd, and a Trustee Director of Kinetic Superannuation. She is also a Director of the Australian Theatre for Young People.

Mr Graham Wackett (0)*

Representing Taronga’s volunteer community. Mr Wackett has been an active volunteer at Taronga Zoo in Sydney since 2006 and has a strong background in hotel, resort and attractions ownership and management. Previous executive roles include Managing Director and CEO of Southern Pacific Hotel Corporation, and Managing Director Travelodge Australia and Travelodge Developments. Mr Wackett also has strong tourism industry experience, having previously served as a member of the Board of Tourism NSW, Tourism Training Australia and the Tourism Task Force.

* Not eligible to attend meetings in 2013/14

Clr John Walkom (6)

Representing Dubbo City Council. Member of the Marketing Committee. Clr Walkom is Chair of Regional Development Australia – Orana, Deputy Chair NSW Regional Development Advisory Committee and Chair of the Dubbo Regional Entertainment Art Music Festival. He is an active and highly regarded member of the local community in Dubbo, having worked closely with a broad range of stakeholders including community, business and local government representatives.