With nearly 50% gone, we need to act now.

Donate Now

This spectacular bird needs our help!

Find Out More


Chair – Ms Nancy Fox.
Monitors financial performance, including occupational health and safety, environment, human resource management and capital works programs. Monitors and covers issues relating to internal control systems, risk management systems, financial reporting and other financial responsibilities. Consists of selected Board Members with representatives from the NSW Audit Office and independent auditors Ernst and Young.

  • Mr Roy Bendall
  • Ms Penny Bingham-Hall
  • Mr Graham Wackett

Meets 6 times per year. 

Marketing Committee (6)

Chair – Ms Susan Doyle.
Monitors all marketing activities including communications, Taronga Foundation, customer service and tourism development. Consists of selected Board Members:

  • Ms Robyn Parker
  • Mr Graham Wackett
  • Mr John Walkom
  • Ms Jen Cowley

Meets 6 times per year. 

Wildlife Committee (6)

Chair – Dr Ian Roth.
Monitors collection management, wildlife conservation, research and veterinary services.
Consists of selected Board members plus the following external contributors from appropriate specialist fields: 

  • Ms Jen Cowley

Meets 6 times per year. 

Animal Ethics Committee (6) 

Statutory committee through which all research projects involving animal research must be approved. Constituted in accordance with the Animal Research Act 1985 and consists of the following representatives: 

  • Dr Rebecca Spindler, Chair (Researcher)
  • Dr Jo Wiszniewski (Researcher)
  • Dr Frances Hulst (Veterinarian)
  • Dr Benn Bryant (Veterinarian)
  • Ms Cecily Stuart-Prentice (Animal welfare representative)
  • Mr Tony Gregory (Animal welfare representative)
  • Justice Michael Foster QC (Independent representative)
  • Mr Harold Eagleton AM (Independent representative)

The Committee reviewed and approved 13 new applications, 14 renewal applications and 3 amendment applications in 2012/13.