Secondary School Day

Secondary School Day

Support the curriculum with real-world experience for a year group cohort.

Inspire your secondary students to be conservation champions for the wild with a program designed to increase student engagement with nature and sustainability.

The immersive learning experiences will inspire your students on the day as they connect theory to real-life through hands-on, engaging activities and workshops with Taronga Education, Wambangalang Environmental Education (WEEC) and a Resource Recovery Education Officer (RRO).

All sessions link to the NSW curriculum, and syllabus outcomes mapped across subjects, including Science, Geography, Design and Technology.

Suitable for secondary students from Stage 4 to Stage 5.

Download the Dubbo Secondary School Day Flyer for more information.

Once the day’s formal sessions have concluded, schools can then partake in a Self-Guided walkthrough of the zoo. Taronga Western Plains Zoo Dubbo is an unforgettable safari adventure.

Students can explore the 6km Zoo circuit at their own pace – take in key animal trails that focus on a range of habitats, explore purpose-built education precincts and learn from a range of Keeper talks throughout the day.

Details

Student group size: Up to 90 students for the day (30 students per session)

Cost: $22 per student

Schools in the LGAs of Narromine, Mid-Western & Dubbo Region: $15 per student

Dates: 

  • Monday 1st May 2023
  • Tuesday 2nd May 2023
  • Monday 8th May 2023
  • Tuesday 9th May 2023
  • Monday 15th May 2023
  • Tuesday 16th May 2023
  • Monday 22nd May 2023
  • Tuesday 23rd May 2023
  • Monday 5th June 2023
  • Tuesday 6th June 2023
  • Tuesday 13th June 2023
  • Monday 19th June 2023
  • Tuesday 20th June 2023
  • Monday 26th June 2023
  • Tuesday 27th June 2023

Food: Students are recommended to pack their lunch. Alternatively, if you wish to pre-order lunch packs, please advise in your booking request.