Book your 2017 School Excursion Now Find Out More
Join Taronga Teachers Association Today! Find Out More


NAIDOC stands for National Aborigines and Islanders Day Observance Committee. NAIDOC Week is held in the first full week of July (3-10th July 2016) to celebrate Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history, culture and achievements and to recognise the contributions that Indigenous Australians make to our country and our society. All Australians are encouraged to participate in the celebrations and activities that take place across the nation during NAIDOC Week.

Songlines: The living narrative of our nation

For Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, the Dreamtime describes a time when the earth, people and animals were created by our ancestral spiritual beings. They created the rivers, lakes, plants, land formations and living creatures. Songlines connect people to Country and the Country to people and NAIDOC celebrates the rich history and diversity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures - the oldest continuing cultures on the planet.

Project Habitat Competition

To celebrate NAIDOC 2016, primary schools in NSW have been invited to encourage their students to participate in Project Habitat’s NAIDOC competition. Students are asked to design their own banner, based on what the 2016 NAIDOC theme means to them. There will be three entry categories, Kindergarten – Year 2, Years 3-4 and Years 5-6.

The Prize

The winners from each category will have their artwork made into banners and displayed around Taronga Zoo. About 10 of each winner’s banners will be produced. The winners and their families will also be invited to Taronga Zoo in July to see their banners displayed in grounds. The winning designers and their class will also receive an Animals of the Dreaming Zoomobile visit to their school, compliments of Boeing Australia. If the school is in a remote location, where Zoomobile is unable to visit, they will receive an Animals of the Dreaming Video Conference.

2016 Winners

We have been overwhelmed by the response to this year's NAIDOC colouring-in competition. We have had hundreds of entries and our judges struggled to pick one winner from each category. As a result, we have decided to award four winners - one from each age category that will be displayed in Taronga Zoo, Sydney and an additional winner whose banners will be displayed at Taronga Western Plains Zoo in Dubbo.

All four winning entries will have their entries turned into banners and displayed within Zoo grounds. We also have a large number of highly commended entries, whose artwork will be displayed here on our website in the coming weeks.

The winners for the 2016 NAIDOC Banner Competition are:

ES1 - S1: Emelia M from Middle Dural Public School
S2: Hazal E from Dulwich Hill Public School
S3: Brandon P from Franklin Public School

Dubbo: Baxter F from St Philomena's School

View Gallery


Highly Commended Entries

With hundreds of entries to choose from, selecting the winners was no easy task for our panel of judges. Below are a number of entries who deserve recognition for their amazing artwork!

ES1 - S1: 

Phaedra K from Orange Grove Public School
Stefanie M from Arncliffe Public School
Alexander F from Daceyville Public School
Madhu S from Daceyville Public School
Nia K from Daceyville Public School
Paige from Balgowlah Heights Public School
Bella S from Armidale City Public School
Harriet C from Dulwich Hill Public School
Amelia K from Erina Heights Public School
James from St Philomena’s School
Anita C from North Rocks Public School


Bindah from Windale Public School
Kaleb C from Wyalong Public School
Sasha, Judah, Liam and Aiden from Eastwood Heights Public School
Amber, Sophia, Vienna, Angelina and Miya from Eastwood Heights Public School
Sophia from Dulwich Public School
Matilda Grace R from Dulwich Hill Public School
Marcos from Dulwich Hill Public School
Hannah from St Philomena’s School


Takiera T from Wee Waa Public School
Karl K from BCS (Brewarrina Central School)
Shae D from Coonabarabran Public School
Rachel L from Middle Dural Public School
Sophie L from Budgewoi Public School
Jasmin B from Cromer Public School
Layla from St Philomena’s School
Clayton C from St Philomena’s School
Noah from St Philomena’s School

View Gallery

Congratulations to all our winners!!