Keeper for a Day

Keeper for a Day

Go behind the scenes into the daily lives of our keepers and experience a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to get close to some of our most popular animals!

Book in a specific date for your Keeper for a Day experience or simply purchase a gift voucher.

About the program

This program will take you to places not seen by the general public and show you a whole new side to Taronga. As part of a small group of up to 6 people, you will be assigned to one of our experienced senior keepers, who will be your host for the day. Participants may try their hand at tasks such as preparing food and devising enrichment activities, cleaning enclosures or feeding and meeting some of our animals. Each day is different; you never know what you'll end up doing!

Please also note that the program must have a minimum of 3 people booked in to proceed.  If we have insufficient bookings we’ll contact you the week before to organise another date that suits you.

    What to bring

    Keeper for a Day includes morning tea and your own 'Keeper for a Day' t-shirt. Lunch and afternoon tea is not supplied. Food can be purchased on the day but it is strongly recommended that guests bring their lunch to avoid lunchtime crowds. Appropriate food storage and refrigeration is provided.

    Keeper for a Day participants should bring:

    • Comfortable clothing suitable for wearing outdoors, which may get dirty
    • Protective, closed footwear
    • Refillable water bottle
    • Weather appropriate clothing (rain jacket, hat, sunglasses etc.)
    • Camera

    Available dates

    View the dates for 2019

    Keeper for a Day runs on select Wednesdays and Saturdays. Dates available for booking are below. If you are unsure of which date you would like to visit or are booking on behalf of someone else, Gift Certificates are available and are valid for 12 months.

    DateAvailability
    Wednesday 4 December 2019Available
    Saturday 7 December 2019Available
    Wednesday 11 December 2019Available
    Saturday 14 December 2019Available
    Wednesday 18 December 2019Available
    Saturday 21 December 2019Available
    Wednesday 9 January 2020Available

      View the dates for 2020

      DateAvailability
      Wednesday 8 January 2020Available
      Saturday 11 January 2020Available
      Wednesday 15 January 2020Available
      Saturday 18 January 2020Available
      Wednesday 22 January 2020Available
      Wednesday 29 January 2020Available
      Saturday 1 February 2020Available
      Wednesday 5 February 2020Available
      Wednesday 12 February 2020Available
      Saturday 15 February 2020Available
      Wednesday 19 February 2020Available
      Saturday 22 February 2020Available
      Wednesday 26 February 2020Available
      Saturday 29 February 2020Available

      Booking conditions

      • Bookings are non-refundable but can be rescheduled or transferred in exceptional circumstances and at the discretion of Taronga
      • Activities and schedules are subject to change without notice
      • Taronga cannot guarantee a nut-free environment, please contact us for further information
      • This program requires a decent level of health and fitness, with participants completing approximately 15,000 steps on their visit